Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 10,740 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
Ordered paid online, delivery good, service good but product badly designed. No support for Three foot of online where it's needed. Well made but poor design will not use again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the Round Column Wire Obelisk you ordered did not meet your expectations. We have manufactured and sold this product for a number of years and reviews have always been positive. However, as we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Thank you again for your order.
Posted 1 week ago
Had to wait for product but was kept well informed
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. The product which you ordered is manufactured in-house, but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. We are very sorry for the delay with your order however, we understand that you have now received this. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 month ago
Very expensive for what they are
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your recent order and review. We would like all our customers to be completely satisfied with every aspect of our service and would like to offer a brief explanation of our pricing structure. Wherever possible, we aim to be competitive when fixing prices on products and also try to research, design and manufacture our products wherever possible using superior materials. We also spend a lot of resources on ensuring we charge a similar price and wherever possible, we try to give our customers an even better deal. Hopefully, this explanation is of help and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 1 month ago
Fruit tree sleeves are not bird proof as described. They were torn apart and all the cherries taken. Complete waste of money, time and effort.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We have sold the Fruit Tree Sleeves for many years and have not had any negative feedback regarding these. Please be assured quality control is of the utmost importance to us. If you could kindly send us an image of the damaged items, we will then forward this to the relevant department for their comments. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and look forward to hearing from you shortly.
Posted 1 month ago
Great quality products and good selection, however the delivery cost will prevent me from ordering again. I paid £16 for P&P for a net, that is not acceptable, Royal Mail would have been far cheaper.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. You comment on the cost of delivering an order outside of the UK mainland. We would like to explain the situation regarding delivery and prices across the country. As the range of products that we manufacture and supply is so diverse in size and shape, we have to rely on couriers, to deliver the vast majority of our orders. To calculate the delivery tariff, our carriers split the country into various zones governed by postcodes and unfortunately, delivery to some areas attracts an extra charge. If it is any consolation, we do not add a surcharge to the figure our couriers charge us; in fact, we subsidise the £15.95 delivery cost on every order. Wherever possible, we try to send our products by Royal Mail or similar postal services but, as we mentioned above, the size, shape and weight of many of our products precludes this. We hope this is of help to you and thank you again for your order.
Posted 1 month ago
Disappointed that my order for two netted cages did not have any assembly instructions. I had a single box with all the components for the two but no assembly instructions. After I requested details they came promptly. I have some reservations about how robust the structures are. I live in an exposed site with some high winds at times, so I reserve judgement on that aspect.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has now been in contact with you to discuss your enquiry and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Posted 1 month ago
The compost bins are fine in themselves but too difficult to assemble.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your recent order for Harrod Horticultural products and also for taking the time to complete an online review. We would like all our customers to be delighted with their goods and we are sorry to hear that you encountered problems with assembling the Compost Bins. Your comments have been forwarded to our Design team for them to amend the product assembly instructions if necessary. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
Not convinced that my superior quality fruit cage net was particularly robust and worth the extra money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. Please be assured quality control is of the utmost importance to us and we have passed your comments on to the relevant department for their perusal. We understand that a member of our Customer Service team has now contacted you regarding this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
Delivery and "q1uality very good, but the price is extortionate.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your recent order and review. We understand from your comments that you are unhappy with the prices of some of the products in our catalogue and on our website. We would like all of our customers to be completely satisfied with every aspect of our service and would like to offer a brief explanation into our pricing structure. Wherever possible, we aim to be competitive when fixing prices on products that other mail order companies of our size stock. We spend a great deal of resources on ensuring we charge a similar price and wherever possible, we try to give our customers an even better deal. We also try to source superior products to offer to our customers and also research, design and manufacture our own products wherever possible using superior materials. Hopefully this explanation is of help and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 3 months ago
I asked a question of a product and 3 weeks later I am still waiting for an answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was so looking forward to receiving my new Dutch hoe, that I actually got my son to watch me open it. Given how expensive it was, I was honestly expecting a really well made tool. It is an absolute piece of junk, the handle isn't even attached straight. The wooden handle isn't sanded down properly or even cut neatly. How the company can justify its price I have no idea - but I'm the mug who fell for it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item was not of the high quality which we normally expect of our products. We understand that a member of our Customer Service team has now contacted you regarding this. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
The ogee garden arch I bought is an elegant addition to the garden. The socket kit is of poor design and almost impossible to use according to the easy sounding instructions. Erecting the arch ended up being a complicated and time consuming job requiring the services of a builder.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are disappointed to learn that you found the Ogee Arch difficult to assemble. We do state on our website and in our catalogue that this item is self-assembly and full instructions are provided. Our friendly Customer Service Team are also available to help. If you require any further assistance regarding assembly of this product, please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will be happy to help you.
Posted 3 months ago
Trellis took SO long to put up. We don't consider ourselves bad at this sort of thing but the rods were bent and it jut takes such a long time. While they look nice, I think they probably aren't worth the high price tag.
Harrod Horticultural 3 star review on 22nd April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. We understand that you have now assembled the product. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 3 months ago
i have bought two raised beds, one last year and one this. Both had defective parts in the form of badly cracked wooden pieces. Both should have been picked up by quality control but weren't. in addition a base panel was cracked in transit. Although this could be put down to the courier the item was packed in a flimsy bag and it was hardly surprising that it was damaged. in both cases I rang customer services, was asked to send a photo and a replacement was then agreed. In neither case did there seem to be any urgency in putting things right - last year's replacement part was sent by 3day courier which is very poor when I was waiting to complete the job. Harrod's attitude to quality control is perhaps best illustrated by a phrase in the instructions for this year's purchase: "Support rails are safety critical - inspect for imperfections before assembling". Surely they should have been checked for imperfections before being sent out! I don't mind paying a premium price for a premium product but that's not what I got on either occasion. I shall not be buying again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems with the Raised Beds you received. Quality is of the upmost importance to us and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department to ensure that our service is improved even further. We understand that replacement parts have already been sent out to you. Many thanks for bringing this to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
Tried to order a frame for a pleached tree. I found it difficult to work out what I needed. Other orders for plant supports very good .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that you were having difficulties with ordering the parts to make a pleach frame. Please can you kindly contact our customer services department on 0333 400 6400 and a member of our team will be able to assist you. Our lines are open Monday to Friday 8.30am to 5.30pm. Alternatively, please kindly email customerservices@harrod.uk.com with your requirements.
Posted 4 months ago
You seem to have a problem with your paymengts page. Each of my two orders from you have failed to accept my Mastercard, although its is accepted without problem elsewhere. It has required payment over the phone. Perhaps someone could have a look at this.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your e mail and review. We are very sorry to hear you have had problems whilst trying to place online orders recently. We have forwarded your comments to our webteam for them to look into, so hopefully this issue will be resolved shortly. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 5 months ago
Had to contact after 2 weeks as no confirmation of order or estimated delivery date
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 7 months ago
Past service has been good however your record-keeping must be poor: I cancelled my order after it was delayed for a third time. I appreciate that companies are having supply issues at times, however, possible delays should be flagged up in advance or the affected products not advertised.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delay with your order has caused great inconvenience for you and we are as disappointed as you are with the most recent further delay. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably, the Link-a-bord Raised Beds are a bought-in product and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 months ago
One item received. The second item still not delivered months later despite supposedly being in stock at the time of ordering.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry for the delay with your order and understand that this has caused great inconvenience for you. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably the Link a Bords are bought-in products and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Please be assured that payment is not taken for orders until they have been despatched and we sincerely apologise again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 months ago
it was bit of a disaster I ordered a raised bed for my granddaughter to be delivered to Dorking It was not delivered when you said it would and you suppled another only for the original order to be derived on the doorstep with nobody in having ben first delivered to an address in East Grinstead The courier you used should sacked
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse, but rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure standards are improved further. If you would like to order from us again, we could send this with different carriers if requested.
Posted 9 months ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 10,740 reviews