Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 10,740 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
Customer service rubbish: suggest not ordering unless you are sure you can be home to receive delivery every day of the 5 day range you’ll be given. I am not at home every day so specifically checked delivery options would accommodate options to rearrange delivery: was told I’d be able to divert the parcels if delivery notification came through on a day I wasn’t available. In reality: notification of delivery came on the morning, there was no option to rearrange, no courier contact details to call them, no help from Harrod to contact courier to divert the parcel. Even worse, in the event as I wasn’t in, the parcels were left outside my front door (effectively on the street) by the courier, and far worse, were signed for as received *in my name*! When flagged with Harrod, was fobbed off that none of the above was their fault, despite the wrong info given at the outset about diverting deliveries. They did promise to follow up with the couriers but I never heard anything further despite chasing. Really poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service and have investigated the points you raised. We can confirm that your order was despatch just before the Jubilee bank holiday on a 3 working day service. Our carriers do not deliver over the weekend or bank holiday so the correct information was advised regarding the expected delivery date at the time you contacted us. We understand that your order was left at your property without permission. This should not have been left and should have been taken back to the depot for redelivery the following working day. We had forwarded your complaint to our account manager at our carriers for this to be investigated further, however, although us chasing for a reply, we never received any feedback from them. Regrettably, we are unable to comment on the information given about diverting deliveries as we are unable to locate communication regarding this. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies on behalf of both our carriers and ourselves and we will do all we can to ensure any future Harrod Horticultural ordering experience, from placing your initial order through to delivery at your door, is of the highest standard.
Posted 2 days ago
Two self assembly trellis arrived without instructions and only fixings for one. The lady I spoke to was not apologetic, would not send a hard copy in post despite me saying I did not have a printer and difficult to read on phone as eight pages. These were unclear instructions. I was assured they were easy to assemble before I purchased. I would definitely disagree and had to pay to have them done. The fixings took 5 days to arrive. I was very disillusioned with your company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves on offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. We can confirm that hard copies of instructions are always available and can be posted to our customers if required. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 month ago
I placed an order month's ago and I repeatedly get emails from you stating that the order is delayed. Hence the low score
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. The product which you ordered is manufactured in-house, but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. We are very sorry for the delay with your order and as discussed, can confirm this will be despatched within the next few days. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 month ago
I bought an aluminium fruit cage. Firstly, it was far too expensive: a few lengths of standard aluminium tube, some mass produced plastic couplings, some pegs and netting - if those components bought separately cost more than £50 I'd be surprised. But this kit cost well over £400. Secondly, to suppose the door could stay square and true without bracing is ridiculous. Thirdly, the bolt supplied to assemble the door latch was not long enough. I had to make a trip into town to get a longer bolt, and I had to design my own door bracing with tensioned wire.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 month ago
Sent entirely wrong product- I returned and requested the wig HR product be sent as soon as possible (since I had a project to finish). Took a while to process and never provided the product I ordered (sent refund instead). So never received the product I paid for and delayed my project. Not impressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Placed an order for a Water Butt connection kit...nothing for almost three weeks...so I called and emailed..."Probably best to cancel the order as it'll be another 2 weeks" so I cancelled. Can't say I was impressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a bistro set of 2 chairs and a table, but unfortunately, one chair was bent and faulty. I contacted the team at Harrod and ,# they said they would sort it. but they didn't and nobody has been in contact since. i spoke to someone at your Chelsea Flower show stand and still nothing has been done not impressed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. In the meantime, we understand that the issues have been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 2 months ago
I was not happy with the way in which my order was left in full view at the front of the house when I had especially asked not once but twice to ensure that my order was placed in a safe place. Had it not been for ur grass cutter they would have remained there for almost two weeks until returned from holiday. There was a delay in the delivery and the order was delivered whilst we were away. I did receive an email to say that Harrods had no control over where their carriers left the orders but when it even said on the packaging that it should have been delivered - it does raise a question about the reliability of the carriers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse, but rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure standards are improved further.
Posted 2 months ago
Asked for a special sized netting, which after being offered and promised, was not be provided. Had to resort to a different solution. Prices are too high, compared to their purpose.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear you have had difficulties with the size of netting you have received. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has been in contact to rectify this with you. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 2 months ago
It took 4 weeks to receive my delivery. It was very expensive by comparison
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry for the delay in despatching your order. The products themselves are manufactured in-house but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the delay. We also understand from your comments that you are unhappy with the prices of some of the products in our catalogue and on our website. We would like all of our customers to be completely satisfied with every aspect of our service and would like to offer a brief explanation into our pricing structure. Wherever possible, we aim to be competitive when fixing prices on products that other mail order companies of our size stock. We spend a great deal of resources on ensuring we charge a similar price and wherever possible, we try to give our customers an even better deal. We also try to source superior products to offer to our customers and also research, design and manufacture our own products wherever possible using superior materials. Hopefully this explanation is of help and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered a peaked steel fruit cage from Harrod and the service was not what I expected. First, I was told the components would be with me within ten days but they took far longer to arrive. Secondly, the dimensions I ordered were 7.5x5m which were clearly marked on the invoice and on the web site. Unfortunately the small print on the web site also explained that the cage would in fact be larger than this and I incurred considerable additional expense to fit the cage onto my site. Harrod were unsympathetic; Finally, and least important, there were some small holes in the roof netting which can be fixed fairly easily.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delay caused great inconvenience for you. The Cages themselves are manufactured in-house but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. Also, we are sorry that the Cage was slightly larger than expected. We do state on our website to allow an extra 2% to the measurements given for fitting. Although we were not able to cut the bars down to size for you, we notice that we did offer a collection and full refund for your order. A member of our Customer Service team has now contacted you regarding replacing the faulty netting. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Many thanks once again for both your order and review.
Posted 3 months ago
Items missing from the package, and not for the first time. Customer service response was poor. I tried the online form and got no response at all in a fortnight. Then I rang and was assured the missing item would go in the post the following day. A week later I received the dispatch email. In the meantime we had to rig something up so we could use the bean support. The same thing happened on the last big order I placed which was weeks late arriving, and then missing many items which took further weeks to arrive. Not impressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse, but rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure standards are improved further. We are also sorry to hear that you did not receive a reply to your initial query which you submitted via our online query form on our website. We can confirm that we have experienced issues with this online query form recently, however, our Web Team have confirmed that this has now been resolved. We understand the you now have your complete order and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
We are accustomed nowadays to receiving internet purchases quickly, in many cases next day. I ordered a raised bed (1/4 22)which never arrived when I expected it to and when I queried this I was told that it was "in the warehouse being picked". Why it should take five days to be taken off a shelf in the warehouse I don't know. It arrived on or about the 20th. On assembly, it seemed quite a good product but after a few days the planks shrunk leaving at least 5mm gap between all the planks. I had to line it with plastic sheeting to keep the soil in. Overall a poor product. The raised beds I made myself some years ago are still sound. I have contacted customer services but have had nothing back since an acknowledgement eight days ago.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. In the meantime, we understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has contacted you regarding your review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
Very poor welding, lumpy and not ground down. One weld did not take and they had to send a new section. The width was not as descibed and I had to cut a good 10cm to get the correct width. These are expensive arches and I would expect better. My advice would be to go to a local blacksmith and get them made to measure.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered was not of the high quality which we normally expect of our products. Please be assured that quality control is of the upmost importance to us and we have passed your comments onto the relevant department for their perusal. We understand that the issue has now been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 months ago
The product was fine. After that you get an avalanche of emails. I do not need a daily email once I have bought a product.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your recent order and review. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the number of emails you are receiving after purchase. After checking with our marketing team, we can see that you have unsubscribed to all communication from us. It may that be you are receiving messages concerning items that have been left in your basket so an automated ‘Take another look at what you started...’ email would have bene sent. This email is automatically created when our software identifies that you have placed items in your basket, and then left the site without logging out. It is meant as a gentle memory jog that you have left items in your basket but are still logged into the site, and also to check that you have not experienced any problems whilst shopping with us that may have caused you to abandon your order. If you could kindly please return to our site briefly and clear your basket, you should then not receive any further messages regarding this. However, if you do have any further queries, please do not hesitate in contacting our Customer Services Team on 0333 400 6400. The lines are open from 8.30am to 5.30pm, Monday to Friday, and we will be happy to help you. Many thanks once again for your order, and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Posted 4 months ago
You have twice ignored product information requests about a product I considered purchasing from your site. Given your price point, this most basic of customer service functions should be fulfilled.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Sincere apologies, we take customer service very seriously and not sure why you have not been replied to, but will investigate this further. If you can forward your query to webteam@harrod.uk.com we will get this looked at urgently. Apologies again HH Team.
Posted 4 months ago
I'm sorry but do I have any dealings with you?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review, this refers to an order at the end of last year for a Gripple Starter Kit, hope the product worked well for you and apologies for any confusion caused.
Posted 4 months ago
I have lost count of the number of times my order has been delayed. The lead time is now so long it has become farcical.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delay with your order has caused great inconvenience for you and we are as disappointed as you are with the most recent delay. The products themselves are manufactured in-house but unfortunately, we have been let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. However, we can confirm that your order will be ready to despatch week commencing 29th November. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 months ago
I've been waiting months to receive my order!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry for the delay with your order and understand that this has caused great inconvenience for you. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably the Link a Bords are bought-in products and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Please be assured that payment is not taken for orders until they have been despatched and we sincerely apologise again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 months ago
Considering I placed an order with a 5 day delivery, which then changed to a 10 day, which then changed again and again. Finally I cancelled the order due to the fact that you had no stock of the item and you didn't tell me there was no stock when I first placed the order.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 10,740 reviews