Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 10,740 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
Harrod slot and lock systems are excellent and very versatile. The tubes are easy to cut and the joints well made apart from the witness of injection molding not being removed. BUT beware do not allow delivery when out. My consignment was delivered to the same number house in another road. Only luck reunited me with my delivery as no tracking information was available. Delivery was by Tuffnells, who must be viewed as very questionable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the items you ordered did not meet your expectations. Please be assured quality control is of the utmost importance to us and we have passed your comments on to the relevant department for them to look into. We also apologise for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by Tuffnells. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse, but rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure standards are improved further. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 3 weeks ago
The website and ordering process were fine, but the quality of one of the products was very poor. The fleece that I ordered disintegrated after about 6 weeks in our garden.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your recent review. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has been in contact and confirmed that this product was not purchased from us.
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered three Freestanding 2 Tier Staging. The delivery company were useless, not leaving the goods on the first attempt (fine). We requested a redelivery for a time we would be home, and instead, they turned up the next day and left the goods in front of the door, in clear view. The goods themselves were badly damaged and missing parts. It took two attempts through customer service for the correct undamaged parts to be delivered.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Many thanks for both your recent order and review. We are very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by our carriers. We take all comments regarding delivery very seriously as it is one of the aspects of our operation we cannot directly affect once the goods leave our warehouse. We will be passing your comments to our carriers’ Account Manager, as we do with all delivery service feedback we receive. Please accept our apologies once again on behalf of both the carriers and ourselves and we will do all we can to ensure any future Harrod Horticultural ordering experience, from placing your initial order through to delivery at your door, is of the highest standard.
Posted 2 months ago
The product is overpriced, it's just several steel tubes, with no way of fixing it to the ground! even though the drawing states that the feet are part of the standard kit.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand from your comments that you are unhappy with the prices of some of the products which we supply. We would like all of our customers to be completely satisfied with every aspect of our service and would like to offer a brief explanation into our pricing structure. Wherever possible, we aim to be competitive when fixing prices on products that other mail order companies of our size stock. We spend a great deal of resources on ensuring we charge a similar price and wherever possible, we try to give our customers an even better deal. We also try to source superior products to offer to our customers and also research, design and manufacture our own products wherever possible using superior materials. As you ordered a ‘Below Ground Ogee Arch’, the uprights are designed to be inserted into the ground by 40cm. The last page of the assembly instructions which were sent to you refers to ‘Above Ground Arches’ which are supplied with shorter uprights and floor fixing plates. Hopefully this explanation is of help and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 3 months ago
After my initial review, I was sent an email saying my query was answered [but I never received the 'answer'] and asked to change my review. It still didn't really answer my issue which relates to the Geopod Heater Propagator with lights, which is a really poor value piece of kit by the way. So I'm just adding in this bit and it doesnt change my thoughts. Original Review: I had a query on the item and whilst I received an initial e mail asking me to makes lots of checks, there was no further follow up following my reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your recent review regarding your order. We are sorry to hear that you have not received a reply to your query. After checking we can see that a reply was sent to you on 25th April. It may be that this has been received into your 'junk' folder, please can you kindly check this for our reply. We have also resent our email to you today so hopefully, you have all the information you need. If you still need further assistance please kindly contact our Customer Services line on 0333 400 6400. Our lines are open Monday to Friday 8.30am-4.30pm. Many thanks
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered 3 raised beds. Enough was delivered for just one raised bed and despite several calls from us we have had no firm date for the delivery of the remainder for months. We have been told there are people waiting even longer than we have. The last call, three weeks ago, said the raised beds were stuck at the Port of Felixstowe. Still no sign of them and no communication from Harrods??
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in despatching some of your order. We appreciate that delays cause great inconvenience for our customers and we are as disappointed as you are with the delays. Whilst most of our products are manufactured in-house by ourselves, regrettably the Link a Bord Raised Beds are not. As bought-in products, we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates for these. As always, we endeavour to keep our customers updated about their delivery. We understand you have now received your goods, however, please accept our sincere apologies for the long delay you encountered with the second part of your order.
Posted 5 months ago
The product is fantastic, no faulting that - we’re very satisfied. What was really disappointing was the customer service. Repeated delays and only 10% offered after we complained. It is such a shame that they didn’t put more effort into the after sale care…it left a really sour experience for what is clearly a very good product range.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. The product which you ordered is manufactured in house, but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. We are very sorry for the delay with your order, however we understand that you have now received this. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 10 months ago
Missing parts. Phoned twice still missing parts
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us and you have part missing from you order. We understand that the issues have been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
Never received goods Said they were in transit but got sent back due to the fact the label had fallen off . Never had the offer to return it , just refunded me!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has now contacted you regarding this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
There planters ordered. Delivery was late, one panel missing and two panels damaged. Slow response to resolve but the damaged and missing panels were replaced. Not clear from the website the planters are self assembly and not easy to construct - there must have been about 40 bolts per planter!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. In the meantime, we understand that the issues have been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
Inadequate communication over the rescheduling of delayed delivery of foot scrapers.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delay with your order caused great inconvenience for you and you unfortunately you had to cancel this. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably the Cast Iron Boot Brush/Jacks are bought-in products and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
All though delivery and product what was expected, there was a corner outside connector for the shelf missing and so I need see if I can find a replacement which is frustrating as I wanted to use the whole greenhouse straight away
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered products which did not arrive. I phoned Harrod and was told that the items were not in stock. Why could you not have emailed me at the time of order to inform of this and to expect delays? The items took, from memory, 3- 4 weeks to arrive. Product good but delivery and customer care ( your employee was not at all friendly) were not up to scratch. however I will not be put off by one poor experience and will use you again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
The netting cage appears of good quality and was easy to assemble. However, fitting the additional access strip has damaged the netting and is a poor fit. The instructions are inadequate and customer service was poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 1 year ago
The items were not properly packed. They had bubblewrap on them but not in the right places so two out of 3 items were split open and the contents all over the place. Good prices, though, but I wont buy from you again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent order and review. We were sorry to hear that on receipt of your order, you were unhappy with the way the goods had been packaged. We regularly review each and every product we stock – partly based on very welcome feedback such as yours - to ensure they are packed as efficiently as possible and are well protected for the uncomfortable journey they are about to take. We work closely with our suppliers to try and ensure products we purchase from them are adequately packaged on delivery to us, and of course, we have much greater control over packaging of the items we design and manufacture ourselves. Thank you once again and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
I. Ordered items for my grandsons birthday they were available when ordered the money was forthwith withdrawn from my account Harrod then stated that certain items were unavailable and took longer then a month to send them on to my daughters address I find this behaviour unacceptable I am used to dealing with companies that the money is withdrawn when the item is a available not when falsely stated that it is available then sent weeks to months later Reluctant to support this company in the future
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. To confirm, we only take payment when an order is despatched from our warehouse and funds are only authorised before this stage. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
Harrod Horticultural's courier mislaid one of several items to be delivered. Repeated assurances from Customer Services and courier (DX) that the item was found and would be delivered came to nothing. Customer Services seemed unable to follow the thread of the narrative. Staff on the phone claimed no access to email, and proposed there were 3 missing items - which there weren't. Item(s) finally determined by HH and courier to be lost, and replacements (too many - I did point it out!) out of stock and placed on backorder. Original missing item arrived the next day damaged. A request that HH consider a gesture of compensation for the numerous calls and emails required has gone unanswered to date. The order was completed 6 weeks after the delivery of the majority of the parts.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse, but rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure standards are improved further. We understand that your replacement items have now been received a member of our Customer Services Team has been in contact with you. Please accept our apologies once again.
Posted 1 year ago
Grossly overpriced. Powder coating chipped on top corners of all 4 posts. On one post, when scewing in the ball top the captive nut came loose so ball top can't be removed. Another post had no captive nut at all so had to enlarge hole, bolt ball top to washer and bond in place.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. Please be assured quality control is of the upmost importance to us and we have passed your comments onto the relevant department for their perusal. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience
Posted 1 year ago
I phoned to check on availability of a product: old style Dutch trowel, and was told that it would be received from the supplier at the end of that week and shipped out straight away. So I placed my order and over a week later hadn't heard anything. I called to be told that the supplier hadn't delivered. Now I understand that it was the suppliers fault, but no communication about the delay and customer service person to regularly use the phrase "no problem" when in fact there was a problem was irritating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delay with your order has caused great inconvenience for you and we are as disappointed as you are with this delay. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably the Sneeboer Old Style Dutch Trowel is a bought-in product and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
When we enquired why polly tunnel had not been delivered as the month we were told re delivery was up to ge told it had already been delivered which it hadn't. You had to investigate and apologise. 1 parcel was delivered next day from rest
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. In the meantime, we understand that the issues has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 10,740 reviews