Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.64 Rating 9,056 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 13th April 2020
Mr Colin McLean
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 13th April 2020
Vicky auton
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 28th March 2020
Lex Budd
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 17th March 2020
Martin Carter
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 28th January 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 18th January 2020
Mr chris Hawkins
More Photos & Videos
Harrod Horticultural 5 star review on 7th November 2019
Mr Robert Kennedy
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It is pointless asking me for a review when I have not received the order yet
Posted 1 month ago
I have ordered two rectangular metal planters. The first arrived with the two main panels dented, which were replaced after I sent photos. The second arrived with a set of bolts of the wrong size, which were replaced after a week.
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered wooden beds and hoops with covers to match. After assembling the beds and realizing that the hoop covers never showed, I was told that ordering the covers were never an option (they were, I ordered them) and furthermore, even if I wanted to order them separately, the size of bed I selected was not popular and they had nothing in that size. Disappointing experience, will never order from Harrod again.
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. After checking we can confirm that regrettably the size of fitted cover you require has now been discontinued from our range of products. This was not available at the time of your order and the cover had been removed from our website, a hoop kit only was selected. We understand that our Customer Services Team have been contacted and they have advised that you are very welcome to return the hoop kit if this is unsuitable. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 7 months ago
There was a delay in receiving my order and I was not informed of this. I only found out when I phoned up to enquire. There was also confusion in the timing of the delivery as I was away for a week and did not want the order left outside. I had to phone again to clear up the confusion.
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your review and order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. Many thanks again for your order.
Posted 7 months ago
I ordered a raised bed kit to fit into a specific space and found the measurements on the website were not corrct so it did not fit in the space allotted. Very annoying!
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. The measurements we give for our Superior Timber Raised Beds relate to the planks used to make the kits. The posts to the Timber Raised Beds do add to the overall external measurements. We have now asked for the exact external measurement to be added to our website and we would like to thank you for bringing this to attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 months ago
I placed an order on 28/6/19 and had an email confirming delivery would be in 3 to 5 working days.
On 1/7/19 I had an email saying it had been delayed and would now be available (for dispatch presumably) on 5/7/19.
On 8/7/19 I had an email saying it had been delayed again and would now be available on 12/7/19.
I cancelled the order.
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We understand the delays with your order caused great inconvenience for you and we were as disappointed as you with the delays. The products themselves are manufactured in-house but unfortunately, we were let down by our suppliers of the raw material which we source externally. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 months ago
FRUIT CAGES ORDERED. DIDN'T ARRIVE. NO CONTACT OR EXPLANATION FROM HARROD. I CHASED. CURT EXPLANATION PROVIDED, SOMETHING TO DO WITH LACK OF STEEL....! GOODS FINALLY SENT AND SATISFACTORY. NO APOLOGY.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 10 months ago
My experience can be summed up as ......extensive elivery delays, delayed responses to emails and lack of communication The products themselves are functional but somewhat overpriced in my view.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. At the time we were experiencing an unprecedented high volume of emails and would like to apologise also for not replying to your email in our usual prompt manner.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. At the time we were experiencing an unprecedented high volume of emails and would like to apologise also for not replying to your email in our usual prompt manner.
Posted 10 months ago
No problem with ordering and delivery but the product us very unsatisfactory. The stakes do not have enough of a link "hook" to stay joined up. I am going to have to try adapting them.
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has now been in contact with you regarding this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 10 months ago
Very slow delivery
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the delivery timescale for your order. We can confirm that because of the size of your order it was despatched via our carrier company Tuffnells. Tuffnells deliver on a 3 working day service and regrettably do not offer a tracking service. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 10 months ago
Shipping was delayed "due to popular demand" (what for was not stated) and based on the estimated shipping date that was given delivery was likely to take place whilst we were away. An e-mail to customer services asking whether shipping could be delayed was acknowledged but never answered. Whilst we were away, I received two e-mails within about 2 hours of each other, the first saying that shipping had been delayed further, and the second saying that the order had been dispatched. The latter appears to have been correct and the package was left outside our door in the open for about a week. The product itself is fine but customer service pretty much non-existent.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. Please accept out apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 10 months ago
Poor customer service -no reply to email after 4 days and had to contact by phone. The obelisk I purchased will not fit together and was expensive so I thought I was getting a quality item
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. We aim to respond to all customer emails with 24 hours excluding weekends. However, due to the recent volumes of emails we have received, unfortunately we have been unable to reply in our usual prompt manner. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
I wasn’t that happy with one of the products I received; it was as per the catalogue small print but I still can’t see why you don’t make it differently. It also took nearly three weeks to respond to my enquiry.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. We can confirm that our Strawberry Cages are not supplied with fitted covers, however, we have forwarded your suggestion onto the relevant department to review. Thank you once again.
Posted 11 months ago
I placed an order for plants, but nothing happened for several weeks. I tried to find out what had happened to my order by calling customer services - was cut off after the phone rang unanswered for 2 minutes. Sent an email and got 2 automated responses saying they would contact me within 24 hours. Guess what... no contact. A few days later I got am email from the plant suppliers saying my order would be with me shortly. Several days later it turned up. Plants are mostly OK, have had a couple of fatalities due to damage and they were all very limp but the others are recovering. Would not recommend or use again.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your review and order.
Firstly, please accept the delay with despatch of your plants. Our Nursery will only send plants once they are strong enough to survive the journey and we disappointed to hear that some plants arrived damaged. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 11 months ago
I received a poor service recently when ordering some anti-insect netting, together with all-important steel ground pegs to secure said netting to the ground, only to be told that this staple item was out of stock. Furthermore, replenishment stocks did not arrive bt the date promised following which I complained and received a totally unsatisfactory response which failed to address the problem and matters absolutely no further forward. Ultimately after a further delay I finally received the ground pegs, but without any apology or price adjustment for the inconvenience I had suffered.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website up to date as possible regarding stock availability and also keeping our customers up to date with any delays with orders. We can confirm that we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. We understand that your complete order has now been delivered.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
Moth trap received within two days of ordering - very quick. However, there were no instructions on how to assemble it or how to use it. I queried this and had a quick reply on 8 May: "We can confirm that we are currently dealing with your enquiry with the relevant department, and will get back to you as soon as possible." I'm still waiting five weeks later.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service. After checking we can confirm a reply was sent to you email and are sorry if your had not received this. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
Ordered roman arch. One piece is missing. Have had acknowledgment of my email but piece not arrived. Half finished product half put together in living room. What has arrived is of excellent quality though.
Posted 11 months ago
On 24th April I ordered an additional vegetable cage to go with the 2 you supplied us 3 years ago. It was delivered promptly - the packing tube was severely damaged but luckily the contents survived.

Having first telephoned, but finding you reluctant to accept a phone order, I had ordered online - simple enough. But the reason for phoning was that I also wanted a quote for a bespoke net to fit a cage over one of 4 raised beds you had supplied us with 10 years ago (still doing the job despite needing a few repairs to rotted corner posts and base planks). The dimensions were noted, and I was advised I would receive a quote in due course - not necessarily “by return”, but within the 30 days eligibility for free delivery. Disappointingly, I never heard anything further, so gave up.
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas which require attention. In the meantime, we understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and a quotation will be received shortly. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 months ago
Not informed that delivery date was going to be lengthy. Cancelled order and sourced elsewhere (cheaper too).
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 1 year ago
I had to purchase an extra set of connectors (GDN-675 - CONNECTOR 25X25 3 WAY 3WC) for my aluminium cage as the old ones became rusty and broke. I also had to pay a blacksmith to get the broken connectors removed from their hollow poles. When I contacted Jarrod I was informed that the cage, once erected, was not supposed to be dismantled. I had had to dismantle mine each winter as I had it on an allotment and erect it again for the summer season. A poor design of connectors as the go rusty over time. But they are supposed to be outside all year!
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are sorry to hear that you experience issues with the connectors to your Steel Fruit Cage. Our Steel Fruit Cages have a 10-year structural guarantee and are designed to be assembled and left in one area. The cage can be dismantled; however, we do recommend against this as parts can become damaged, especially if dismantled on a number of occasions. We hope this explanation is of help to you and thank you again for your comments.
Posted 1 year ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.64 based on 9,056 reviews