Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.64 Rating 7,592 Reviews
93% of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural

About Harrod Horticultural: Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website

Categories:
Gardening
Home & Garden

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
3
Michael Parry
"PACK 50 SUPER ALLISPACERS were very disappointing. I have a new Castle greenhouse and the Allispacers were too large to fit in the greenhouse frame channels. Twisting them to fit in the channels just distorted the plastic and they then fell out when putting up the insulation bubblewrap."
Report
Posted 5 days ago
5
Anonymous
"Quick delivery and the garden arch was as described."
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Mr David Wrigley
"They supplied a product that is easy to assemble, is light to handle but is clearly durable with a long guarantee. It was easier and cheaper to use this product than to have professional landscapers install a wooden alternative that would not last as long. Very quick on delivery as well."
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"Considering the cost, i would say this item is significantly over priced. Assembly took approximately 5 hours. This has no reflection on my DIY ability but the 100's of screws involved. The finished article looks good and works well. I would seriously request your designers to look at sub-assembly at the factory prior to shipment"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 1 month ago
Visit Website
How would you rate our product range?
"Late on delivery and had to chase order, then the goods arrived over 5 days and 3 different deliveries two being the same vehicle and driver despite being asked that there was a package short at the first drop off. Then there was an item missing from the assembly, when notified Harrod customer service said "would despatch immediately" I stupidly assumed would get missing parts the next day, sadly that took another 5 days to arrive."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Many thanks for both your recent order and review. We are very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by our carriers and understand that a member of our Customer Service team has already spoken to you regarding this. We take all comments regarding delivery very seriously as it is one of the aspects of our operation we cannot directly affect once the goods leave our warehouse. We will be passing your comments to our carriers' Account Manager, as we do with all delivery service feedback we receive. Please accept our apologies once again on behalf of both our carriers and ourselves and we will do all we can to ensure any future Harrod Horticultural ordering experience, from placing your initial order through to delivery at your door, is of the highest standard.
Posted 2 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"STILL WAITING. Notified of a long delay shortly after placing my order. I was informed that the there has been a further delay on top of this. So I can't really comment on the quality of the goods received as I am still waiting to receive it. Gardening is seasonal, so if you can't get the items you order in a timely manner, they might not be much use to you, at least till the following year."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very sorry for the delay in despatching your order. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably some are bought in products and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. We would like to apologise once again for the delay and for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 2 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"Poor performance of Encarsia. Whitefly control."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. As the Whitefly Control is a live product, unfortunately the heat may have affected the performance of the parasites this year. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has now contacted you regarding this. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 4 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"The product is good, but the communication and prolonged delivery was not. I had to constantly chase where it was and they kept changing the delivery or didn’t communicate at all."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 4 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
"Damaged goods, and poor customer interaction when the damage was reported"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your recent order for Harrod Horticultural products, and for taking the time to complete an online review.

We rely greatly on comments from our customers to drive our policy of continual improvement in both the products we supply and the service we offer, and are most grateful for your views.

We would like all our customers to be delighted with their Harrod Horticultural shopping experience and we are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us.

We understand that you had received your order and part of your arch was damaged. This was reported to us and we requested a photo of the damage. We are sorry that you were unhappy with this however, it is company policy to request a photo before a replacement can be sent. After checking we can see a replacement part was sent to you the following day on a next day service.

Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 4 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"On delivery several nuts and bolts were found to be missing. These were however sent out quickly once the error was pointed out. On erecting the fruit cage some of the joints did not fit together tight enough and tended to come apart easily. In addition the netting sent for the roof was clearly the wrong one. What was needed was a rectangular one and was was included was an elongated diamond shaped one. With a great deal of effort it was however possible to make this one fit. Given the high price of this particular fruit cage I was less than impressed"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We are very sorry to hear of the problems which you encountered with your cage and understand that a member of our Customer Service team has now dealt with your enquiry. We can confirm that the roof netting which is supplied with our cages is a diamond mesh bird netting and has to be stretched out at opposite corners to achieve the correct shape. We hope this explanation is of help to you and thank you again for your order.
Posted 4 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? yes
Would you recommend us to a friend? yes
"I bought a container to use in conjunction with Nemaslug but have found great difficulty in attaching a garden hose to the device. Any further information would be greatly appreciated."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with the Nemsprayer you have ordered from us. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has been in contact to resolve this for you and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 4 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
"The item I ordered was faulty. I was charged return postage."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"The fruit/veg cage was stated as keeping butterflies out and it doesn't. I've had 5 cabbage whites inside the cage and I can see them getting in and out through the netting. I am very disappointed."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has contacted you to explain that the Fruit Cage which you ordered is supplied with bird netting and this does not prevent butterflies from entering the cage, only birds. However, if you wish to protect your brassicas, we do also supply butterfly netting if required. We hope this explanation is of help to you.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"I ordered 2 x packs of parsnip plants (20 per pack) and they only sent 1x pack, emailed/contacted them and eventually after a week they got back to me and apologised and sent another pack out, had them planted in the ground now for a few weeks and the second batch that they sent does not seem to be growing very well, will wait another week to see how they go but they look like they won't survive, very disappointed and will go else where next year"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your recent review and order. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems with your original order and also that the replacement plants were not of the high quality which we normally expect. We understand that a member of our Customer Service Team has now contacted you regarding this and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 5 months ago
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"After having ordered and paid, and even had a phone call to confirm card details and address, was told item was out of stock! Then had another call but no message left. Attempted to find out what the call was about but no response to emails. My husband eventually spoke to a lady but did not have confidence in her so cancelled the order. Went direct to the manufacturer and item arrived in a couple of days with no problems. Disappointing."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry for the problems which you encountered with your order. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant departments. Whilst most of our products are manufactured by ourselves, regrettably the item you ordered is a bought in product and we are completely in the hands of our suppliers regarding stock dates. Again, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"I had to return the fruit cage I had purchased, as I had measured incorrectly. I was charged £30 for 're spray' as I was told that the item was scratched and needed to be re sprayed before re sale. The item was couriered by Harrod Horticultural arranged couriers both ways, so if damage occurred then, it was on their watch. If the damage occurred as I very carefully unpacked the item on a lawn, it is not fit for purpose if such treatment will so easily scratch it. It would have been good to have been sent photographic evidence of the damage, as I only had HH word for it that such damage had occurred."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your recent review.
We understand that you had placed an order for an Aluminium Vegetable Cage however this was too big for your needs so you needed to return this to us for a refund.
On arrangement of collections we do advise that orders have to be returned in a perfect re-sellable condition in their original packaging. We also state this on our returns policy on our website.
Regrettably, as this order left us and was delivered in perfect condition, the damages on return were chargeable.
We hope this explanation is of help and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
Would you buy from us again? yes
"EXplanation of set-up and use inadequate -- small diagrams which were vague. I could not manage to make the watering device last much more than a day, however I juggled the copper sliders."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"Order took a long time to arrive with no updates until I contacted them. When plants arrived they were rather worse for wear. Parsley plants, yellow, weak and rather small. I have followed instructions but do not expect them to survive the next couple of weeks. Did not match pictures. I would rather have waited for a healthy plant but would have probably gone with another company had I been told of the wait expected."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your recent review and order. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our customers as up to date as possible with regards to delays and will be investigating the reasons as to why this was not communicated with the relevant departments. We understand that a number of your plants were received in poor condition and a member of our Customer Service Team has been in contact to resolve this. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"My order took at least 4 or 5 weeks to come. Although I understand things are sometimes delayed, I chased this several times by email and never got a proper reply, just an automated one. Very frustrating. When I eventually received a reply, it stated my order would be delivered in 2 days' time on a Friday. I replied immed to ask for short delay (ironically) so they would be delivered on Monday instead as we were going away to a wedding and would be away for 3 days. I didn't know how they would be packed, and hence if they would survive for this time. As I didn't get a reply, I had to assume 'no such luck', so we packed up the car, and literally sat waiting for the delivery. I quickly opened box to unpack plants and leave them in such a way that they wouldn't die while I was away, and so I could plant properly when I got back. They were all very delicate and so some were damaged when extracted from all the straw packing. Long story short, it was not a pleasant experience, it was very frustrating and I will get my plants from elsewhere next time, probably RHS site. My advice would be, make sure you update your customers on the situation and any delays etc. People generally don't mind if they know what is going on."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
‘Thank you for your recent review and order. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We can confirm that all of our plants are grown to order by our nursery. The late growing season this year had unfortunately led to delays with despatching our plants which we know has been a great inconvenience to our customers. It is company policy to keep our customers as up to date as possible with regards to delays and will be investigating the reasons as to why this was not communicated with the relevant departments. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.’
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"I followed instructions but they are nearly all dead"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 5 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"Be careful to look very closely at brochure pictures. Sometimes they have unsightly bolts hidden behind foliage. Self assembly can be a nightmare"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for your review and order. We are disappointed to learn that that you found the Metal Raised Bed which you ordered difficult to assemble. We do state on our website and in our catalogue that this item is self-assembly and full instructions are provided. Our Customer Service Team are always available to help if you require any further assistance regarding assembly of this product. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.
Posted 6 months ago
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"I cancelled my order when I found out the exorbitant delivery charge to my home in Aberdeenshire"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your order and review. You comment on the cost of delivering an order outside of the UK mainland. We would like to explain the situation regarding delivery and prices across the country.
As the range of products we manufacture and supply is so diverse in size and shape, we have to rely on couriers, to deliver the vast majority of our orders. To calculate their delivery tariff our couriers split the country into various zones governed by postcodes and unfortunately, delivery to some areas attracts an extra charge. We realise this is not an ideal situation but as our trade increases, we hope to be able to reduce this charge so deliveries to the whole of the UK mainland cost exactly the same. If it is any consolation, we do not add a surcharge to the figure our couriers charge us; in fact, we subsidise the £15.95 delivery cost on every order.
Wherever possible, we try to send our products by Royal Mail or similar postal services but, as we mentioned above, the size, shape and weight of many of our products precludes this. We hope this is of help to you and thank you again for your order.
Posted 6 months ago
How do you rate the speed of our service from placing your order to delivery?
How would you describe the quality of the customer service you have received?
How would you describe the quality of the goods you have received?
How would you rate our product range?
Would you buy from us again? no
Would you recommend us to a friend? no
"A long wait from order to delivery symptomatic of poor stock control processes. End panels difficult to fit , far too flimsy, and virtually useless."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website as up to date as possible with regards to out of stock items. Regrettably it has taken us longer than usual to keep up with the unprecedented demand for this item. We are also disappointed to learn that the item you ordered was not of the high quality that we normally expect of our products. Your comments will be forwarded to our suppliers for their reference. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 7 months ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.64 based on 7,592 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support