Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 11,484 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
4.6
Based on 11,484 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 93%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 89%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
“I had been sent a copy of your brochure and I placed my order, via the telephone, on the basis of what was advertised. I was told that the item I wanted was in stock but was now considerably more expensive than was advertised - that the brochure was out of date. Because I wanted the items urgently, I went ahead with my order. Subsequently, I received an e-mail telling me the item was out of stock. This was repeated a couple of days later. The extra cost and the delay were annoying in themselves, but because I had to be away from my house, on two occasions I made arrangements for people to take delivery of the item in my absence.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“Bought two packs of the new cherry netting tubes for the 3 dwarf bush trained trees on our allotment. Normally things from Harrod Horticultural are great, but this time I have been sorely disappointed. Two packs barely covered the fruit on a single tree, there weren't enough ties for the number of branches the netting covered, and it took hours to put on. Not enough to cover the other two trees. It would work out hugely expensive to cover all three. The birds have now stripped the two uncovered trees. I shall be investing in a fruit cage for next year.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. Our Cherry Tree Sleeve Roll is a low cost way of protecting cherries and an alternative to using our Cages for protection. The measurements of the roll are stated in our catalogue and on our website to help customers decide how many packs they would need to order. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“The cloche I bought from you recently was very poorly presented. The parts had been stuck together with sellotape which left ugly marks over the new components, and were very difficult to clean off. The bolts were presented in a bad way, with the bag all stuck up. The persons doing the final assembly clearly did not care abpout the impression given to the customer.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your recent review and order. We were sorry to hear that on receipt of your order, you were unhappy with the way the goods had been packaged. We regularly review each and every product we stock – partly based on very welcome feedback such as yours - to ensure they are packed as efficiently as possible and well protected for the uncomfortable journey they are about to take. We work closely with our suppliers to try and ensure products we purchase from them are adequately packaged on delivery to us, and of course, we have much greater control over packaging of the items we design and manufacture ourselves. Thank you once again and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“There were delivery problems originally, with the wrong parcel being delivered at first and a parcel which contained the cage door was never delivered, but because of a serious illness I wasn't aware of this for a considerable time. However, that issue was solved amicably. The main problem occurred when we put up the net over the top of the cage and discovered several large holes after we unrolled it over the top, which we couldn't see because it was packed in the box before-hand. After we finished (with insufficient written instructions how to do it) I managed to patch the holes effectively as we didn't have the will to take the netting down again. It's OK now, but not as good as it should be, which is a pity because it is basically a good piece of garden equipment. Finally, because our garden is on a slope, I had to adjust the uprights accordingly. Written advice on this would have been helpful.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very sorry to hear that the netting you have received is faulty. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Regarding your comment about your sloping site for your cage, we can confirm that we do offer a made to measure service where we can provide quotations for any none standard requests. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 11 years ago
“I am being asked to write a review on the goods I have ordered but I have not let received anything yet!”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. In the meantime we understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any delay inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“I have now had three orders with Harrod and each time after placing an order I get an alert saying the products are delayed . Surely stock info should be available at point of sale . The last order but I I was asked to review the product before I had received the goods! The last order I phoned in desperation to find out what was going on and was assured the goods were coming on Friday but low and behold on Thursday when Ihappened to be in along came the delivery man. Please Harrod say when items are not available when the order is placed and please get the delivery info accurate. . Ps I was feeling that after three poor experience s I would have got the items from another supplier if I could .”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website and our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“Paid for next day delivery. 1 package came the next day, unfortunately 2 packages were needed!! The 2nd part didnt arrive for a week and a half and this was after many phone calls and tweet!”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further.
Posted 11 years ago
“The Tumbleweed composter that I just bought was something of a shock! Despite being proud of their "British" manufacturing sources at Harrods, this one came in a box claiming to be of Australian extraction. My previous tumbler had lasted for many years but eventually failed when the weight of water-soaked compost (I left it upside down through a rainy period) caused the central pivot-bar to cut through the plastic body and confound normal tumbling motion. This product has its ventilation holes in the twin lids (one at each end), not helpful when the rain falls), and those lids fasten with "slide-under" lugs that seem somewhat frail. I was surprised that the plastic body of the Tumbleweed required bolting together at the mid point, around the central pivot bar, and I'm apprehensive of the integral thickening of the moulding around the bar mounting points - will this survive longer than the heavy plastic bushes inserted into my earlier equipment.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. Many of our products are designed and manufactured here at Harrod Horticultural. However, this is not one of our own in house designed products. We are very disappointed to learn that this product did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Thank you again for your order and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“Poor service. I rang the office up to place an order because I wanted to check whether I needed any connector pieces for a 1.5m square plastic raised bed I was ordering. I was told I didn't need them and when the product arrived I couldn't build it because surprise surprise I needed the connectors that I was told I didn't need by someone at Harrod. This was especially frustrating because this was the sole reason I rang up rather than ordering online. When I phoned up the second time to order the connectors they tried to charge me £5 delivery again even though they knew it was their fault. Once I complained again the agreed to post them for free. I was very frustrated by the service although the did post the connectors out first class”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused
Posted 11 years ago
“My view overall is marred by the delivery end of the order. The initial response from yourselves was excellent and I would have given you a "very good" rating. However, the delivery side of things was not so good. The driver was fine but had a very difficult job to do with the packaging of the order. The physical size of the sturdy packaging plus its weight was such that, although he was a large, well built man, it was very difficult to handle. The packaging was marked "Fragile" but was broken and the cover was just attached to the base. He assured me that every thing was there. However when I came to assemble the Composter I found some of the metal inner vanes were bent and assembly was made somewhat difficult. Not the driver's fault really but the package had been severely mishandled. I think that 'MANTIS' should be advised.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further.
Posted 11 years ago
“Sadly the plastic netting we ordered from you had an irregular 'finished ' edge which is a pity as it is a temporary solution to keeping out the rabbits from a newly created flower garden next to of the loveliest historic houses in Britain. We have had no option but to use it because the plants are arriving in 2 days. Not up to your usual high quality goods.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 11 years ago
“As the cloche still hasn't arrived yet it is impossible to comment. Perhaps you could look into this for me. Alan Parsons”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our customers as up to date as possible with regards to stock dates. We understand that this issue has now been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 11 years ago
“Received two offer codes, one for 10% off raised beds and one for 10% off fruit cages. As these were two products I was keen to buy, I attempted to complete one order for both products, however your system would not accept this, so had to submit two separate orders with two delivery charges to the same address! Even phoned to try to find a way round this but was told there was no way to solve this. After spending more than £800 and incurring two delivery charges, I then received an email offering me free delivery if I spent £40! Also received numerous emails offering free gifts with next order but I spent in excess of £800 and received no free gift. Very pleased with the products I have received but feel let down with the customer service and ordering process. I would give four stars for the goods but two for ordering system.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We are currently reviewing our system to ensure these issues are resolved and would like to apologise for the delay and inconvenience caused. In the meantime we understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team.
Posted 11 years ago
“Cart, products, and process all seem to be very good. Order was process and despatched quickly, communications was good. However, be aware of their small print. Promotions, especially the 10% off your order are actually deceptive, and only mean 10% off the items they choose - in my case 90% of my order was not allowed to have a discount. I feel slightly conned / ripped off - however i did forefil the order and keep the items as they did meet my needs.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
“I am still waiting for delivery of order number 1665176 -”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our customers as up to date as possible with regards to stock dates. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 11 years ago
“I recently responded to an advert from Harrod horticultural concerning a recent order for a lawn aerator which I found unfit for purpose. I have not received a reply I attach my previous email. Thank you for your advert communication. I acknowledge the swiftness of the delivery of my recent order . However I fell I must formally record my complete and utter dis satisfaction with the use of the aerator tool. It was with great effort that I managed to make three or four complete insertions off the tool - I could have forked a third of the lawn in the same time. The fault would appear to be the thickness and rounded tips of the insertion points. I had intended to share the use of this tool with a fit and competent gardener but their experience in attempting to use the tool was worse than mine – giving up after one frustrating try. It would appear that one needs to be at least 16 stone and of Olympic stature to make any impression with this tool. In our opinion it is not fit for purpose. I would appreciate your comments and any suggestions Regards Peter MacCulloch v”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“There has been a very long delay on the receipt of my order. This has been frustrating to our plans for the garden this Spring.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. In the meantime we understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“Not as thick as discribed”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Thank you again for your order and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“I ordered your Eco wood preservative only to find that if the wood is to be partially burried it needs to be triple strength and the wood soaked for three days. There is nothing in your product description to indicate this and having made it up to triple strength I will not now have enough. Using it this way also makes it very expensive and i also had the inconvenience of constructing a waterpfoof dip tank in which to immerse the posts. Had I known in advance I would probably have found another way of doing things. I am not pleased. As for the next question, how can I judge the quality of a preservative without years of testing?”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Web Team who have the remit to amend any information regarding our products on our website. Thank you again for your order and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
“I bought a raised bed from Harrod Horticultural. Part of the order went to Edinburgh - so I had to wait another week for full delivery. Then when I came to make up the bed, there weren't enough screws to complete the job as we were 10 screws short. The heads on the screws supplied were soft and buckled when screwed into the wood. Not great quality for the price I paid - I certainly won't buy anything from this company again.”
Helpful Report
Posted 11 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further. We are very disappointed to learn also that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 11 years ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 11,484 reviews