Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 11,484 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
4.6
Based on 11,484 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 93%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 89%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
“Failed to reply to requests when trying to find out status of half my order after waiting patiently for nearly 2 weeks for it to arrive. It did eventually turn up.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We understand that your order has now been received and we apologise for the delay and inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“The item I purchased from you showed on the website that there was stock available where other websites showed they were sold out. I purchased from you thinking the item was in stock and I was a little annoyed that I then received a letter saying you were out of stock. Had I known this at point of purchase I would of waited for one of the other suppliers to have more in stock as the item was cheaper elsewhere.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website up to date as possible with out of stock items. As this is a new product and has never been in stock, we are currently looking into making stock statuses clearer on our website to avoid further confusion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“Increased delivery costs because of my mainland Scotland post code made the whole experience rather unpleasant”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. You comment on the cost of delivering an order outside of the UK mainland. We would like to explain the situation regarding delivery and prices across the country. As the range of products we manufacture and supply is so diverse in size and shape, we have to rely on couriers, to deliver the vast majority of our orders. To calculate their delivery tariff our couriers split the country into various zones governed by postcodes and unfortunately, delivery to some areas attracts an extra charge. We realise this is not an ideal situation but as our trade increases, we hope to be able to reduce this charge so deliveries to the whole of the UK mainland cost exactly the same. If it is any consolation, we do not add a surcharge to the figure our couriers charge us; in fact, we subsidise the £14.95 delivery cost on every order. Wherever possible, we try to send our products by Royal Mail or similar postal services but, as we mentioned above, the size, shape and weight of many of our products precludes this. We hope this is of help to you and thank you again for your order.
Posted 12 years ago
“First fork was sent out but never arrived, had to chase sooooo many times and eventually received my fork with is very nice indeed, just wish I didn't have had to wait nearly a month to use it! Not the usual high standard for Harrod but it is probably a reflection on their courier choice than Harrod themselves”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we can’t directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further.
Posted 12 years ago
“Frankly I was disappointed with the service I received. I was informed on ordering the goods that I would receive items in 4 or 5 days. I was not told that they were out of stock either at the time or soon after. Had I known, I would have changed my order or gone elsewhere, as the delay was extremely inconvenient. Robert Batten”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. Please accept our apologies once again.
Posted 12 years ago
“Bought two topiary cages, one round and one conical. Although the stated dimensions were technically correct in the literature, they were misleading in terms of the width of the bases (the conical one did give a base width but the round one gave a maximum width). It made a difference to me and I was basically told that I could exchange/return as I should have read the detail and I would have to pay the postage! Not a cheap product in the first place so kept the wrong one and will not use them again. Their loss.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you found the sizes of our Topiary Frames confusing on our website. We have passed you comments onto our Web Team to see if they can make the measurements clearer. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“I purchased a 100 litre plant feed maker, but found that the bio-degradable perforated bags so flimsy that they just fall apart. I rang Harrod to complain and was told that they needed to contact the supplier to get replacement bags, and would get back to me. After a week I had to chase Harrod as I had heard nothing. Apparently the problem was passed to the "purchase department" who had not come back to the “customer service” person. I complained forcibly and from that point onwards the replacement bags were ordered and I was kept me informed of the progress. The replacement bags where also useless, and I have completed a product review about that. Harrod’s customer service leaves a lot of room for improvement.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We have requested some more replacement bags to be sent for your 100 litre plant feed maker and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“Bought the kneelers . They slip down all the time and I cannot keep them up however tight I make them. Have gone back to my old cheaper ones which need new velcro but at least they work.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 12 years ago
“cannot comment on product still havent recieved it after a week!”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the delay in delivery of your order. Your order was for a live pest control product and we want this to reach you in optimum pest controlling condition. Our current process involves ordering live pest control products once a week from our suppliers and sending these the straight away the following week once stock is received. Regrettably we do not currently have the storage facilities for live pest control products in our warehouse. We have now despatched you item and hope it is safely with you. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“Unfortunately my parcel arrived damaged and the aluminium bars were bent, and some bars were missing,however I rang and there was no quibble! Harrod said they would send out a replacement. So I will review actual product when it arrives.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review. We understand that this issue has now been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 12 years ago
“The customer service is useless they will not respond to their error in delivery in spite of repeated e mails and phone calls”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. In the meantime we understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“very expensive at my local hardware shop ican buy 50m for less than £30”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention.
Posted 12 years ago
“As yet item not received and no communication from seller. Therefore can not really make a valid rating as regards quality etc.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“I bought an Aluminium fruit cage last year which I have been very happy with but 9 months after putting it up one of the plastic clamps on a corner brace snapped. I was very disappointed to find that I was unable to get a replacement clamp which would have cost pence and then sent in the post for 62p, but rather had to purchase a complete brace at £14.95 plus £4.95 postage. £19.90 for a small piece of plastic costing no more than 50p is very poor.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. Spare parts are available for many of our products and we would like to apologise you were not advised of this. If you still require this spare part, please can you kindly contact our Customer Services department who will be happy to help you.
Posted 12 years ago
“My order was dispatched in 3 parcels. I received 2 of them in Thursday and rang the customer service line to find out when I would receive the 3rd parcel (which contained the poles to support the netting in the other parcels). I was told I would receive it the next day (Friday). It did not arrive. Neither did it arrive on Saturday. I rang the customer helpline that was supposed to be open until 4pm on Saturday but, after hanging on for just under an hour my call was diverted to voicemail as it was 4pm. I am still waiting for the 3rd parcel to be delivered and I am not impressed with customer service.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with the delivery of your goods. To clarify, when consignments are despatched from our warehouse all the bundles are sent together. However if any bundles measure over 2m they are split from the main consignment to be handled by a specific carrier and are delivered the following day. We detail this on the order despatch confirmation but we will now look at ways of making it even clearer. We understand that you now have your complete delivery.
Posted 12 years ago
“Disapointing that what was ordered, and paid for, was actually Out of Stock. Although wanting the Large Size, we purchased the Small Size because your Website said that it was In Stock. Not good.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We understand that your order has now been received and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“I am writing this review only about the poor service I have received from Harrod and not on the quality of the product as I have not yet received everything I ordered over a week from purchase. It's the small things that make the difference and the fact that only part of my order was delivered with no indication that there was still more to come, followed up by a lack of any response to me email querying this have left me as an unhappy customer. When I did phone I was told that the missing part of my order was on the van for delivery that day, that was yesterday and still no sign. Poor show Harrod.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We understand that you now have your complete delivery and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“To make it clear. The products are normal or good. I have spent about £300 and this for me is a lot of money. The services from Harrod has been disappointing because of poor communication. It means I may not use this company again and I would be really reluctant to recommend you to others. Firstly, I order a half grow house which was not your own product. I was not aware of this at the time of purchase and was surprised when I was dealing with a third party (they were good, their product is great and I appreciated the videos). Then 3/4 days after the delivery received a dispatch email which made me panic. Customer service were poor and I was assured of a phone call that day that never came. An email explaining the issue of dispatch with 3rd parties came but only after me panicking. Secondly, I ordered a cage and net. Net arrived with no poles but the parcel stated 1 of 2. Another call to Harrod resolved the issue but two incidents involving communication that have made me lose faith.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. In the meantime we understand that the issues have been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 12 years ago
“The delivery was attempted before the scheduled time, the missed delivery paperwork advised they would try again the next day if we did nothing to rearrange, this never happened and the customer ID provided didn't work on the ukmail website. I then had to phone harrod to rearrange delivery. This delivery arrived without problem but again we received a text advising on the delivery time at the time of delivery. Pretty bloody useless all because of the delivery service.”
Helpful Report
Posted 12 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we can’t directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further.
Posted 12 years ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 11,484 reviews