Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

Harrod Horticultural Reviews

4.6 Rating 11,483 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Harrod Horticultural
4.6
Based on 11,483 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 93%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 89%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Harrod Horticultural Reviews

About Harrod Horticultural:

Quality garden supplies built on 60 years of UK manufacturing and design.

Visit Website
“Delivery was awful with Uk Mail lies lies and more lies. But in fact Harrod dud their very best under the circumstances. The products Harrod Horticulture sell are very good quality but in this instance the delivery was terrible and why I have rated my experience as poor! If they continue to use Uk mail I will not be ordering again. DPD are amazing!”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Many thanks for both your recent order and review. We are very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by our carriers. We take all comments regarding delivery very seriously as it is one of the aspects of our operation we cannot directly affect once the goods leave our warehouse. We will be passing your comments to our UK Mail Account Manager, as we do with all delivery service feedback we receive. Please accept our apologies once again on behalf of both our carriers and ourselves and we will do all we can to ensure any future Harrod Horticultural ordering experience, from placing your initial order through to delivery at your door, is of the highest standard.
Posted 8 years ago
“Your delivery charges! It is disgraceful that your company still use a delivery service that charge extra for Scottish post codes. It did not show up clearly till the final stage. I was outraged. We are still mainland UK , NOT an island.”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. You comment on the cost of delivering an order outside of the UK mainland. We would like to explain the situation regarding delivery and prices across the country. As the range of products that we manufacture and supply is so diverse in size and shape, we have to rely on couriers, to deliver the vast majority of our orders. To calculate their delivery tariff our couriers split the country into various zones governed by postcodes and unfortunately, delivery to some areas attracts an extra charge. We realise this is not an ideal situation but as our trade increases, we hope to be able to reduce this charge so deliveries to the whole of the UK mainland cost exactly the same. If it is any consolation, we do not add a surcharge to the figure our couriers charge us; in fact, we subsidise the £15.95 delivery cost on every order. Wherever possible, we try to send our products by Royal Mail or similar postal services but, as we mentioned above, the size, shape and weight of many of our products precludes this. We hope this is of help to you and thank you again for your order.
Posted 8 years ago
“Although delighted with the goods received it was annoying to find them cheaper on the website of the company who actually delivered them!”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Many thanks for your order and review. We have now forwarded your comments to our Purchasing team for their perusal and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Posted 8 years ago
“My order was delivered to my sons has it was a Christmas present. The delivery man was asked to put the goods at the side of the house but left them all across the front door. That was disappointing and a pain has my son then had to move them with his busy life.”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further. If you do wish to order from us again we would be able to send this on an alternative carrier service.
Posted 8 years ago
“I paid for an item that you no longer sell so it shouldn't have been on your website in the first place”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our website up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 8 years ago
“Good product but abysmal delivery service. Courier kept promising delivery dates / times and then not keeping to them. This happened several times - eventually I had to ask you to sort it out.”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered during the delivery of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service when the goods leave our warehouse so rest assured this will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further. Were you to order from us again we would be able to send this on an alternative carrier service.
Posted 8 years ago
“Ordered a luxury kneeling stool ... waited 2 weeks for it only to find out it had been lost in-transit so ordered another 1 ... then both turned up on successive days ... called HH to arrange collection of 'spare one' ... waited in 3 separate days for a collection that never happened ... so still got a 'spare one' awaiting collection ... amateur operation!”
Helpful Report
Posted 8 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered with the collection of your goods by one of our carriers. It is frustrating for us when this happens because we cannot directly affect this part of the service once we ask the carriers to collect an order, but rest assured this case will be investigated fully to ensure the standards are improved further. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 8 years ago
“We expected the netting to be fitted to size as per previous cage purchases. Not just a roll of material”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We do state on our website that “All cages up to 3m x 3m are supplied with a fitted net, larger ones come with a netting pack which can be trimmed if there is too much excess netting.” Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 9 years ago
“Unfortunately, the product did not work to get rid of caterpillars, broccoli has been devoured by this pest.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 years ago
“Product ordered was disappointing. No base”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the window box which you recently purchased. We do state on our website that the window box has an open base with slats to support the plastic trough which is included. If you would like to return the product for a refund, please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will be happy to help you.
Posted 9 years ago
“From the 3 Obelisks I ordered 1 was broken; got it swiftly replaced though; from the 3 composers I ordered the wood was already chipped on the corners when it arrived. Feeling disappointed in the need of to call again and complain: its pure the packaging: just some plastic doesn't do a lot to protect the product in a delivery van”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very sorry to hear that parts of your order were damaged in transit by our carriers. We understand that a member of our Customer Services Team has now contacted you regarding this. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 9 years ago
“awful quality, can't believe you picked and sent them. Couldn't plant them at customers, went to local nursery, buy cheap buy twice.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very sorry to hear that the plants you received were not of the high quality which we normally expect. We understand that this issue has now been satisfactorily resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience.
Posted 9 years ago
“These plants were offered at buy 2 get 1 free so I ordered and paid for 2 lots, i.e. 6 plants. First half (3) plants arrived pretty promptly but no sign of balance after a week so I phoned Harrod and they told me to contact nursery in Cornwall? Direct. They said sorry, their fault and would send balance when they had new plants in? arrived about week later”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We pride ourselves in offering a 1st class customer service so we will investigate the points you raised in detail to see how we can improve the areas of our service which require attention. We understand that your complete order has now been received and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 years ago
“The goods were dispatched before I requested them. I was assured the live product would be fine still. Once they had arrived, there was no instructions on how to apply the product.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. We are currently investigating why your order was sent sooner than requested and would like to apologise for inconvenience caused. If you still require application instructions for this product, please kindly contact us and we will arrange or these to be sent.
Posted 9 years ago
“I bought the vintage cage fittings to use as an espalier for existing fruit trees (as illustrated in the catalogue). Unfortunately the uprights flex easily and are not strong enough (however deep you put them in the ground) to withstand any sort of windy conditions. I suspect that these uprights etc work well when made up as a cage but they do not work as a free standing espalier. I was very disappointed as the appearance was just what was wanted. To add to my disappointment sending them back cost me about £35 as I lost the postage on the two delivered packages and had to pay for the courier to collect (at over 2m long and extremely heavy there was no alternative other than courier collect). What a shame.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. As we are always trying to improve both the products we supply and the service we provide to our customers, we have forwarded your findings to our Product Development Team, who have the remit to evaluate any products which may be considered to be underperforming. Regrettably we only offer a free of charge collection service if the items received have been damaged in transit or are faulty.
Posted 9 years ago
“I ordered a product and was told it would be delivered within four working days, a week later it had not arrived when I contacted you I was told it would be at least another week perhaps longer. I cancelled the order, VERY disappointed”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems when dealing with us. It is company policy to keep our customers as up to date as possible regarding stock availability and we will be investigating this issue fully with the relevant department. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 years ago
“what purchase did I make ? the last contact with you that I can remember was for Link-a-board and I cancelled that order , , , ,”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your recent review. Regrettably this review request was sent to you in error, this is automated and sent to all customers 28 days after their order has been placed. We understand that your order has now been cancelled and we are currently investigating the reasons why this was sent to you. Please accept out apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 years ago
“The fruit cage was flimsy and was damaged in the first strong winds. The replacement joint was very expensive - bearing in mind the postage.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. Regrettably our Slot and Lock frameworks are not guaranteed to withstand storm force winds and we do recommend that the netting is removed if these conditions are forecast. To help with cages situated where strong winds are likely we do offer bracing to fix to the framework. Please see a link to our website below. https://www.harrodhorticultural.com/harrod-slot-and-lock-brace-kits-aluminium-finish-pid8726.html We hope this is of help to you and thank you once again for your order.
Posted 9 years ago
“Hi Thank you for the opportunity to feedback. I completed my order on line several times as I was confused by the pricing discrepancies that occurred in the final totals unexplained. I eventually placed the order but when confirmation came through to my e-mail a few moments later, I was able to work out what the problem was. Unfortunately I had been charged £15.95 postage and packing as opposed to the stated £4.95 (?). I telephoned to enquire and was advise that because I lived in the PH20 postcode (on the Scottish mainland) the cost of carriage was such. At point I cancelled the order. As we enjoy very normal despatch and receiving services here in the central Highlands usually delayed by about 24 hours - from all the main carriers - UPS, AJG, Hermes, Yodl, DPD as well as a completely normal delivery service provided by the Post Office (at no extra cost), your charges for this code are extortionate. I can only assume that you have relatively few dealings with Scotland because otherwise you would have addressed this inconsistency. The cost differential is unfounded and unnecessary and for Scottish distribution it would be appropriate to either avail yourselves of the Post Office at a consistent price -even if delivering to the far isles - or to seek a more competitive carrier. People here accept that another 24 hours might be added to shipment times but the imposition of further financial penalty is widely rejected. Yours sincerely Pete Moore”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your order and review. You comment on the cost of delivering an order outside of the UK mainland. We would like to explain the situation regarding delivery and prices across the country. As the range of products we manufacture and supply is so diverse in size and shape, we have to rely on couriers, to deliver the vast majority of our orders. To calculate their delivery tariff our couriers split the country into various zones governed by postcodes and unfortunately, delivery to some areas attracts an extra charge. We realise this is not an ideal situation but as our trade increases, we hope to be able to reduce this charge so deliveries to the whole of the UK mainland cost exactly the same. If it is any consolation, we do not add a surcharge to the figure our couriers charge us; in fact, we subsidise the £15.95 delivery cost on every order. Wherever possible, we try to send our products by Royal Mail or similar postal services but, as we mentioned above, the size, shape and weight of many of our products precludes this. We hope this explanation is of help.
Posted 9 years ago
“Growing success slug killer Hopeless and expensive. Just had another look at the remains of dahlias surrounded generously by the blue pellets. I hoped not to have put down the pellets that are not good for birds eating the dead slugs.”
Helpful Report
Posted 9 years ago
Thank you for your review and your order. We are very disappointed to learn that the item you ordered did not meet your expectations. We understand that the issue has been resolved with a member of our Customer Services Team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Posted 9 years ago
Harrod Horticultural is rated 4.6 based on 11,483 reviews